Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Greek Sound
Hello,

I have played the clarinet for years (15+) but I am new to the Greek clarinet. What sort of different techniques are utilized for such a distinctive sound? There sounds like so much less control but yet there must be to make such music.

Thank you!
bhanner
Wow, great question,....I think I should write an article about that....
Well with 15+ years you must be a pro yourself... What type of music did you play before.?

I also imagine that you are using a Boehm clarinet rather than an Albert type....that lends itself more to greek music.

I do think that you must have harnessed a lot of technique all these years of playing clarinet... So you know staccato..legato...slurring tonguing, double tonguing etc....

You are almost there to play greek music. But to interpret it the right way here are some general tips....

- Pick a song that you like and find couple of versions of it. Pick for example - S'agapo giati eisai oraia...(not a folk song) but definitely has the same roots.
Listen to it as much as you can.... Like 24/7 if you can.
...After you have drilled your ears to it, try to play it with the score...
- You will probably think now that it sounds "dry" ..and here is where the interpretation comes into play...

You will need to figure out next by listening now the volume changes, the tonguing vs slurring (I try to notate some of that) and the glissing of the notes...

There are many different interpretations of a song but you can get a general "feel" of what it is supposed to sound like by listening continuously to many versions... Eventually you understand what it is not supposed to sound like also!

Also be carefull when you listen to greek music on youtube....Most modern clarinet players use a lot of effects such as - reverb - echo - compessor - to make their own "sound". While that is OK in some instances with moderation overall the end result may not sound like a clarinet at all.